Future Students Parents & Family Alumni & Friends Students & Employees
Admissions & Aid Academics Spiritual Life International Athletics Quick Links

Faculty

The Chemistry Department at Harding University has eight full-time faculty members and one full-time lecturer. Each of the five major areas of chemistry is represented by an associate professor or professor holding a Ph.D. in that area. The department is chaired by Dr. Dennis Matlock. Inquiries can be directed to him at chemistry@harding.edu.

David Cole

H. David Cole, Ph.D. (Organic Chemistry)
Professor

office: SCI 134A
cole@harding.edu

Teaches: General Chemistry, Earth Science, Geology
Advisor for: Chemistry, Pre-Pharmacy

Courses:
CHEM 122 Lab
PHS 110 Earth Science
PHS 110 Lab
PHS 112 Geology
PHS 410 Christian View of Science and Scripture

Edmond Wilson

Edmond W. Wilson Jr., Ph.D. (Physical Chemistry)
Professor

office: SCI 134B
wilson@harding.edu
www.harding.edu/wilson

Teaches: General, Physical Chemistry
Advisor for: Chemistry, Gedanken Society

Courses:
PHS 116 Physical Science
Research

Keith Schramm

Keith Schramm, Ph.D. (Science Education)
Associate Professor

office: SCI 134C
phone: 501-279-4511
kschramm@harding.edu

Teaches: General Chemistry, Science Education
Advisor for: Chemistry, Secondary Science Education

Courses:
CHEM 122 General Chemistry II
CHEM 122 Lab

Kevin Stewart

Kevin Stewart, Ph.D. (Organic Chemistry)
Associate Professor

office: SCI 127
kstewart@harding.edu
www.harding.edu/kstewart

Teaches: Organic Chemistry
Advisor for: Chemistry, Pre-Medical, Pre-Dental, Student Association, Chi Sigma Alpha

Courses:
CHEM 140 Freshman Seminar
CHEM 250 Organic Chemistry II
CHEM 250 Lab
CHEM 440 Chemistry Seminar

dmatlock

Dennis L. Matlock, Ph.D.
(Biochemistry & Molecular Biology)
Chair and Associate Professor

office: SCI 126
dmatlock@harding.edu
www.harding.edu/dmatlock

Teaches: Biochemistry
Advisor for: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Courses:
CHEM 215 Introductory Organic and Biochemistry
CHEM 326 Biochemistry II
CHEM 327 Biochemistry II Lab
PHS 115 Energy, Pollution, and Society

dennisp

Dennis Province, Ph.D. (Analytical Chemistry)
Associate Professor

office:  SCI 125
dprovince@harding.edu

Teaches: Instrumental Analysis and Analytical Chemistry
Advisor for: Chemistry and Biochemistry

Courses:
CHEM 122 -- General Chemistry II
CHEM 315 -- Instrumental Analysis
CHEM 315 Lab

Burt Hollandsworth

Burt Hollandsworth, Ph.D. (Inorganic Chemistry)
Associate Professor

office: SCI 132
phone: 501-279-4460
bhollan1@harding.edu

Teaches: General and Inorganic Chemistry
Advisor for: Chemistry, Beta Omega Chi

Courses:
CHEM 125 General Chemistry for Engineers
CHEM 216 G.O.B. Lab
CHEM 450 Advanced Inorganic Chemistry
CHEM 450 Lab

Cindy

Cindy White, Ph.D. (Biochemistry)
Associate Professor

office: SCI 121
phone: 501-279-4951
clwhite@harding.edu

Teaches: General and Biochemistry

Courses:
CHEM 215 Introductory Organic and Biochemistry
CHEM 324 Biochemistry I
CHEM 325 Biochemistry I Lab

Lab Technicians and Lecturers

heather

Heather Hollandsworth, M.S.E. (Science Education)
Lecturer

office: SCI 120
hhollan1@harding.edu

Teaches: General Chemistry Lecture for Non-majors

Courses:
CHEM 114 General Chemistry for Non-majors
CHEM 114 Lab

Edmond Wilson

Carla Chance, M.Ed. (Chemistry)
Lab Tech, Lecturer

office: SCI 121
cchance@harding.edu

Teaches: General Chemistry Lecture for Non-majors

Courses:
CHEM 114 General Chemistry for Non-majors
CHEM 114 Lab

Chemistry Dept.
Phone: 501-279-4459
Fax: 501-279-4706
chemistry@harding.edu