Harding University

May 13, 2009

Harding to host writing workshop with award-winning authors

SEARCY, Ark. ⎯ Harding University’s Graduate Reading Program will
present a “Teachers as Writers” workshop June 15-19, featuring five
award-winning authors and a noted editor.

The conference is open to any aspiring author, including beginning
writers, teachers interested in expanding their writing curriculum,
and anyone eager to learn more about the world of writing for children
and teens.

Workshops will explore different genres of writing for young readers
each day with presentations from the authors, writing exercises and
individual writing sessions.

Authors include:
•       Novelist Lisa Yee is the winner of the prestigious Sid Fleischman
Humor Award for her book Millicent Min, Girl Genius. She was also
named the 2007 Thurber House Children’s writer-in-residence.
•       Paul B. Janeczko is a noted poet who visits students to get them
excited about writing. He is a winner of the Publishers Weekly Cuffie
Award: Best Book of Poems for A Poke in the I.
•       Alexandria LaFaye is an assistant professor of creative writing and
winner of the Scott O’Dell award for her novel Worth. Her most recent
novel, Water Steps, will debut this spring.
•       Gary D. Schmidt is professor of English at Calvin College in Grand
Rapids, Mich. He won the Newberry Honor and Printz Honor for his book
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy. His most recent novel is
•       Jacqueline Briggs Martin is the author of Snowflake Bentley, winner
of the 1999 Caldecott Medal, and The Lamp, the Ice, and the Boat
Called Fish, an ALA Notable Book. She is also a three-time Lupine
Award winner.

Celebrated editor Virginia Buckley will present an inside look at the
revision process for publishing a book. She has been an editor at
Clarion Books, an import of Houghton Mifflin, since 1997. Formerly
editor-in-chief at Lodestar Books,
Buckley has acquired and edited books in all genres from picture books
to fiction and nonfiction for young adults.

Registration will be Monday, June 15, between 8 and 9 a.m., and
classes run each day 9 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. through Friday, June 19.
There will also be a nightly writing workshop from 6 to 8 p.m.

Conference fee is $600 and includes meals and housing in dorm
apartments with single-occupancy bedrooms. Those who have attended the
conference in previous years will receive a $50 discount, and anyone
who registers a friend will receive a $25 discount.

For more information, contact Sandy Ogburn at 501-279-5107 or