Harding University
August 17, 2011

Touring art exhibition on display at Harding through September 10

The Small Works on Paper touring art exhibition will be on display in
Searcy August 23-Sept. 10. Presented by the Arkansas Arts Council, the
juried exhibition will be housed in the Elizabeth Mason Gallery at
Harding University on 915 E. Market Ave.

The work of Searcy artist Leaf Moore will be featured in the
exhibition. Gallery hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday
through Friday. Admission is free.

Now in its 24th year, the annual Small Works on Paper exhibition
showcases artwork no larger than 24 x 24 inches by Arkansas artists
who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online art gallery
coordinated by the Arts Council. The selected work is chosen by an
out-of-state juror, who also selects pieces for purchase awards.
Purchase award winners receive the cash amount equivalent to the value
of their selected works. Funded by entry fees, the purchase award
pieces become part of the exhibition’s permanent collection.

The art will be on display in 10 galleries throughout the state in a
year-long touring show. The 2011 show features 39 works and was juried
by Patter Hellstrom, a partner in Hellstrom+Zirnis LLC, a bicoastal
artist/curator team based in San Francisco and New York. Hellstrom has
served as a guest lecturer and panelist for numerous national
organizations, including the National Endowment for the Arts. She
holds a bachelor of fine arts degree in painting and drawing from the
University of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.

There were 275 entries submitted; seven artists were selected to
receive purchase awards totaling nearly $2,000: William R. Detmers of
Pine Bluff, Jennifer Hackworth of Jonesboro, Temple Skelton Moore of
Prairie Grove, John Harlan Norris of Jonesboro, Sabine Schmidt of
Fayetteville, Mitchell Skinner of Tucker and Keri Young of Little

About the Arkansas Arts Council
The Arkansas Arts Council was established in 1966 to enable the state
of Arkansas to receive funds from the National Endowment for the Arts.
In 1971, Act 359 (A.C.A. § 13-8-101 et seq.) gave independent agency
status to the Arts Council, with an executive director and a 17-member
council appointed by the governor. In 1975, the Arts Council became an
agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

As an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, the Arkansas Arts
Council shares the goals of all its agencies, of preserving and
enhancing the heritage of the state of Arkansas. The other agencies
are: Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage
Commission, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, Historic Arkansas
Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Old State House
Museum. Funding for the Arkansas Arts Council and its programs is
provided by the state of Arkansas and the National Endowment for the