English Department

Organizations

Film Studies Association
The Harding Film Studies Association (the "Classic Film Club") meets to view movies and discuss themes and cinematic techniques in classic films. In 1992, senior history major Rick Fought and English major Richard Bankhead organized the group and became the club's first president and v.p. All film fans are welcome at showings and discussion sessions.
Contact Ken Hammes - khammes@harding.edu - Box 11033
Larry Hunt - lhunt@harding.edu - Box 12248

Kolbitar
The Kolbitar (Coal-biters) club is dedicated to the study of Germanic myth and literature. The group will meet informally to discuss readings from medieval Northern mythology, like The Elder Edda. More indirectly, the club will also explore the writings of C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien and other members of the original Oxford Coal-biters.
Contact Larry Hunt lhunt@harding.edu - Box 12248
Greg Laing glaing@harding.edu - Box 12248

Scribblers
The Scribblers are a group of Harding students who meet weekly to read and discuss their original poetry and fiction. The group also holds free public readings on an irregular basis throughout the year. There are no dues.
Contact Terry Engel - tengel@harding.edu - Box 12248
Nathan Henton - nhenton@harding.edu - Box 12248

Sigma Tau Delta
Sigma Tau Delta is an international English Honor Society. The purposes of the Society are literary, educational and charitable. The Society strives to: confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies; provide, through its local chapters, cultural stimulation on college campuses and to promote interest in literature and the English language in the surrounding communities; foster the discipline of English in all its aspects, including creative and critical writing; promote good fellowship among its members; and exhibit high standards of academic excellence.
Contact Michael Claxton - mclaxto1@harding.edu - Box 12248
Kathy Dillion - kdillion@harding.edu - Box 12248

Souvenirs
Souvenirs is a group devoted to reading, memorizing, and presenting great works of literature. Recent programs have included day-long readings of The Iliad and Paradise Lost.
Contact Nick Boone - nboone@harding.edu - Box 12248
Michael Claxton - mclaxto1@harding.edu - Box 12248