Department of Music
social-icon

Faculty

Jay Walls

Jay Walls
Department Chair and Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of North Texas - Composition
M.M., University of North Texas - Composition
B.M.E., Harding University - vocal emphasis


Teacher of composition, orchestration, counterpoint
Director of the Arts & Life Performance Series
501-279-4630
jwalls@harding.edu

Cynthia Carrell

Cynthia T. Carrell
Associate Professor
D.M.A., University of Illinois - Trumpet Performance
M.S., University of Illinois - Music Education
B.M., University of North Texas - Music Education

Teacher of trumpet, horn, music theory and appreciation
501-279-4386
ccarrell@harding.edu

Scott Carrell

Scott Carrell
Professor
D.M.A., University of North Texas - Piano Performance
M.M., University of Illinois - Piano Performance
B.M., Southwestern University - Piano
B.A., Southwestern University - Computer Science

Director of Piano Studies
Teacher of piano and music theory, accompanist
501-279-4550
scarrell@harding.edu 

Warren Casey

J. Warren Casey
Professor
Dean of College of Arts & Humanities

Teacher of music appreciation and music education
501-279-4334
casey@harding.edu

Eric Colgrave

Eric Colgrove
Instructor
M.M., Colorado State - Instrumental Conducting
B.M.E., Harding University - Instrumental

Instrumental Coordinator
Music Education Coordinator
Director of Wind Ensemble, Orchestra, & Thundering Herd Marching Band
501-279-4575
elcolgrove@harding.edu

Andrew Cook

Andrew Cook
Associate Professor
D.M.A., Boston University - Music Education
M.M., The Boston Conservatory -  Saxophone Performance
B.M., The College of Wooster - Music History

Director of Jazz Band
Teacher of woodwinds, world music, music history
501-279-4467
acook4@harding.edu

Laura Eads

Laura Eads
Assistant Professor
M.M., University of Mississippi - Voice
B.A., Harding University - Music and English

Coordinator of Vocal Studies
Director of Opera Workshop
Teacher of private voice, music appreciation
501-279-4632
leads@harding.edu

Chuck Hicks

Chuck Hicks
Assistant Professor
M.S.E., Harding University - Music
B.A., Harding University - Graphic Design
A.A., Freed-Hardeman University - Liberal Arts

Director of Belles and Beaux and Good News Singers
Teacher of guitar
501-279-4096
chicks@harding.edu

Dr. Kelly Neill

Kelly Neill
Associate Professor
D.M.A., University Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory - Vocal Performance
M.M., Baylor University - Choral Conducting
B.M., Abilene Christian University - vocal and instrumental music education

Director of Chorus and Chamber Singers
Teacher of appreciation, conducting and vocal pedagogy
501-279-4469
kneill@harding.edu

Susan Shirel

Susan E. Shirel
Assistant Professor
D.A., Ball State University - Music Education & Vocal Performance
M.A., Texas Woman's University - Music Pedagogy
B.M.E., Harding University - Vocal & Instrumental certification

Director of Choral Activities
Director of Concert Choir
Teacher of voice, music education
501-279-5709
sshirel@harding.edu

Adjunct Instructors

Cheryl Camp - B.A., Harding University; piano

Michael Chance - D.M.A, University of Memphis; low brass

Micah Donar -  M.M., Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music; cello

Joy Durand - M.A., Pensacola Christian College; flute

Chandler Growns - M.M., Oklahoma State University; percussion

Stacey Neely - M.A., Texas Woman's University; music ed., voice

Janine Tiner - M.M., University of Oklahoma; piano

Alicia Walls - M.M.E., University of North Texas; viola, String Quartet

Laura Watkins - M.M., Arkansas State University, piano

Leigh Wing - B.M., Brigham Young University; violin

Bobby Wright - B.B.A., Harding University; guitar

Contact Us

Fax: 501-279-4086

Mailing address:
Harding University
Music Department
Box 10767
Searcy, AR 72149-5615