Art & Design Department
  • Student in florence


    Earn both a bachelor's and master's degree in five years!

Accelerated Architecture

Taught from a Christian perspective and with an emphasis on a liberal arts foundation, the curriculum will support and encourage interactive learning with dedicated space for lectures, seminars, labs, shops and equipment. 


  • 168 credit hours
  • 5-year program resulting in a B.A. in Architectural Studies and a Master of Architecture 
  • Cohort model
  • International experience (summer)
  • Internship requirement

Non-licensure path

For those who desire a non-licensure path, a four-year plan will also be available. Students will work through the program in cohorts. 

Careers in Architecture

Architecture is a rewarding profession, providing opportunities to profoundly impact our communities by designing inspiring spaces through creativity, critical thinking and collaboration, all while exercising stewardship of God’s creation.

Career fields include:

  • Architecture
  • Construction management
  • Historic preservation
  • Master planning
  • Project management
  • Sustainable design
  • Urban planning

Curriculum Plan


Accelerated Pathway Explanation

Architecture Accelerated Path

  • Year one: Start as an undergraduate student in architectural studies. The first year curriculum will be paired with our existing CIDA accredited Interior Architecture and Design program.
  • Year Two: Dedicated architecture curriculum begins
  • Year three Apply for the graduate program
    Summer: Study Abroad 
  • Fourth year: Take both undergraduate and graduate classes
    Summer: Internship
  • Fifth year: Complete graduate courses and earn both a Bachelor of Architectural Studies and a Master of Architecture. Upon becoming fully accredited graduates will be eligible to become licensed architects.


The Harding University Architecture Program announces the David B. Burks Architecture Scholarship and plans to award this scholarship each year to one incoming freshman or transfer student pursuing a Master of Architecture. The scholarship is in the amount of $2,500 per semester ($5,000 per year). Selection of scholarship recipients is based on financial need considered together with a competitive review of the submitted portfolios and academic records of all applicants.

For more information, contact Mike Steelman, AIA, at

International Experience

The Harding architecture program includes a summer abroad which will expose students to a diverse set of architectural styles around the world. Travel will take place between years three and four.


An internship is required in the summer between years four and five. The program will assist students in finding internship opportunities through connections with firms across the county.


A chapter of American Institute of Architects Students will be established at Harding University. The Harding architecture program will be a member of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.

National Architectural Accrediting Board 

Harding is currently in the process of seeking eligibility through National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) for the Masters in Architecture degree.